October 15, 2009

Four things

Posted in 8-ball - pool not narcotics, Project: Fail, The Process, The Who, The Why at 10:41 am by Dagny Taggart

Me, a stick, some balls, and a table with holes in it.

I was looking at my stats the other day, and noticed something.  I am undefeated (knock on wood) on one of my teams this season, despite having played more matches for that team than either of the other two – nearly as much as the other two combined.

And I was trying to figure out why that is.  As easy as it would be to blame it on the shots we do as a team-building exercise, I don’t think that’s it.  I think I’m more relaxed with them, and therefore more focused.

Why am I relaxed?  Because the captain of that team has a tendency to play me last – which means I stay late and don’t get enough sleep, but also means that we’ve usually already taken 3 of the 5 matches we’ll play – so there’s not as much pressure.   And when I’m coached, I’m encouraged to take riskier shots – which makes me less concerned with failure, since my coach wouldn’t be encouraging me to take risks if he were going to be truly annoyed if I lost.

I’ve been trying to think of how I can bring this relaxation to my other teams – since I know nerves are at least partially responsible for poor performance, I need to up my mental game.  So I think I’m going to create a little mantra – me, a stick, some balls, and a table.  That’s all that matters when I’m down on a shot – no matter who is on my team, who’s watching, or what the consequences of that shot might be.

2 Comments »

  1. Alias Faux said,

    Frankly, I don’t even know where to start with this. I’ll just say that for some people, relaxation would not be the result of thinking of those things.

  2. Alias Faux: Bwahahahahahaha. And this is how you know I got up at 4:40 to get to the gym this morning, because I totally, completely did not even see that at all, until you commented just now.

    I am an idiot. Fortunately, I am a moderately entertaining one.


Leave a Reply

