October 19, 2009

Cleaning shrimp

Posted in Darth Vaguer, The Happy, The Round at 10:10 am by Dagny Taggart

iIt’s not something I do without good reason, because it is a vile and disgusting task, and I am not a fan.  But when you want colossal shrimp, and you don’t want them from a bag of frozen-ness, you go to the store, you talk to the fishmonger guy, and you head home with a plastic container filled with enormous, yet very much in possession of both shells and intestine, shrimp¹. 

This marks an interesting change for me.  A couple of years ago, I would have been fine with picking up a bag o’ shrimp from my nearby grocery store, with store-bought bread crumbs and maybe even sauce from a packet.  But I braved I-66 in the rain, toasted and food-processed my own breadcrumbs, and painstakingly stirred the beurre blanc into being from 5 distinctly non-powdered ingredients.

All for a very, very good reason.  So all in all, this weekend was a win.  Not only did I grow up enough to take some pride in my culinary crafting and final product, but I was lucky enough to have an additional, very good reason for doing so.

¹I have the actual recipe from the restaurant, which is considerably more complicated than the one presented there, and does NOT involve (shudder) any suggestion of hot sauce.
2 Comments »

  1. Alias Faux said,

    I’m of the opinion that any career that includes “monger” is one one I’m interested in.

  2. Lisa said,

    Sounds delicious! I’ve only “deveined” shrimp once, and it was pointed out that um, that’s not a vein we’re removing. And it really grossed me out and I never did it again. The end.


Leave a Reply

