October 26, 2009

Runaway imagination

Posted in *cringe*, Darth Vaguer, Past, Present, Project: Fail, The OCD at 8:33 am by Dagny Taggart

When I think of someone who is always prepared, I think of the consummate soccer mom – or my friend who works in child care.  These people have little snack-size Ziplocs filled with an assortment of bandages and antibiotic ointments, doses of analgesics, a Tide pen, a mini sewing kit, sunscreen, aloe, an assortment of Philips-head screwdrivers, and homemade granola bars.

And they have it all in one perfectly medium-sized satchel.

I am not one of these people, just in case that wasn’t clear.

What I do have in common with these people, is the ability to imagine what could happen.  What worst could happen.  Except, I don’t imagine in terms of bodily harm – I’m more focused on the emotional, for myself and those I care about.

So what do I keep in my virtual satchel?  A few extra appropriately congratulatory reactions, several invisible pieces of duct tape (for when saying nothing is by far the best response), and an extra bottle of fortitude for when I’m tempted to forgive but really shouldn’t.  Oh – and some tattoo concealer for those ego bruises.

I may not be able to predict how people are going to behave, but I can do my best to react in a predictably prepared (and mature) fashion.

Leave a Reply

