November 10, 2009

Running out

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:53 am by Dagny Taggart

I’m running out of things to say, I think.  I mean, I could certainly talk about how ready I am for this cold to hightail it to someone else’s upper respiratory region, because I HATE the taste of cough drops and yet, they’re the only things that keep me from showering germs all over my fellow commuters and cube-dwellers.  But really, there’s only so much one can say about a cold.

I haven’t had the gumption to do much more with my condo than clean it – and that halfheartedly, at best.

I’m not spending Thanksgiving with my family this year, for perhaps the first time ever, but I don’t know what to say about that yet.

And there’s the situation.  The one that I’ve been alluding to for weeks now, and can’t really get into more detail about without betraying the principles of Darth Vaguery that have made it possible to maintain this space without pissing people off.  But it’s driving me insane, because how can people who seem perfectly decent in so many ways, who seem to be possessed of a perfectly normal value system…  How can they just choose to be wrong?  How can they choose to be wrong over something that is so clearly not worth it?  And how am I supposed to sit there and keep my mouth shut?

It takes me a long time to let go of people, when I have at one point thought they had potential.  And it’s not just because I hate being wrong.  It’s because I keep wondering if there’s just something I’m missing, something I’m not seeing.  I don’t want to cross that point until I’m sure there’s no reason not to.

And so, I have a hard time letting go, and so right now that task is filling up my brain and not giving me all that much more to say.

4 Comments »

  1. vvk said,

    *hugs*

  2. Brian said,

    I second vvk, with big hugs (granted, not as big as vvk’s, for he is a larger man than I, but big just the same).

  3. Lisa said,

    Oh, I think you should shower the people you dislike with germs. I promote it wholeheartedly. It might help clear your head, you know.

  4. Those who are possessed with a certain moral flexibility will never fully make sense to those who are burdened by ethical and moral codes.


Leave a Reply

