November 27, 2009

The aftermath

Posted in Guilt, The Round at 11:37 am by Dagny Taggart

Well, I went ahead and did it anyway.  Despite the forebodings and dramatic omens, I made a positively delicious apple pie using the Cook’s Illustrated fool-proof crust recipe (it involves vodka, and rolling out in sub-zero conditions (kidding) (kind of)).  I also use the Karo syrup filling recipe, and for those of you who think corn syrup (regular, not high-fructose) doesn’t belong in a homemade pie filling, I defy you.

It turned out well.  Lumpy, and the pie plate was stuck to the baking sheet with pie goo because I’d rolled the bottom crust too thin and it ruptured when confronted with boiling pie goo, but the overall effect was flaky and tender and tasty and not at all too sweet, thanks to a trusty mixture of 4 large Granny Smiths plus 3 medium Gala apples.

As I am a terrible photographer, there are no photos.  Which is just as well, as the appeal to my pies is much more taste than appearance.  I am not your go-to person for presentation, in other words.

In other news, I’m back at work and still full.  Oof.  Now, to drop 7-8 pounds before New Year’s…  with Christmas dinner standing between me and success, this should be… interesting.

2 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    Yay! Pie from scratch including crust is very impressive! And I hope the entire Thanksgiving was very fun!

  2. Gabrielle said,

    I haven’t tried the Cook’s Illustrated crust recipe (yet), but I can say from experience that the Better Homes & Gardens cookbook crust recipe is pretty close to fool-proof. I was going to make apple pie for Thanksgiving this year, but was too sick to get out of bed, let alone bake. Oh, well, there’s always Christmas (assuming my mom will allow me to commandeer her oven for a few hours over the holiday).


Leave a Reply

