November 30, 2009

What gets purchased in undergrad…

Posted in *cringe*, Guilt, Project: Fail, The Round at 9:21 am by Dagny Taggart

…gets moved to the back of the closet, waiting for its chance to inspire once again.

I quit smoking and caffeine ingestion at the same time.  It wasn’t pretty, but it *was* just before I started law school, and I figured that if I didn’t manage to do it then, it wasn’t going to happen.  But let’s keep in mind that I was also living at my parents’ house, and that both nicotine and caffeine would have gone a long way towards making that situation go more smoothly.

In short, I tend to do things the hard way.

Which must be why this weekend found me rummaging through my closet, contemplating ensembles for various holiday events over the next month or so.  And why I came across a pair of pants I’d purchased from Nordstrom around the time I bought the giraffe coat (looks like this, but in a mini-giraffe print, not cheetah).  The pants, thankfully, are not animal print.  They are black, and badass, and can magically transform even the most demure Sandra Dee into a vixenish Sandy with only the slightest bit of help from a teasing comb.

They are also, however, a reminder that I was a mite smaller, that lovely junior year of college.  And they are, if all goes well, going to be worn on December 31, 2009, by yours truly.

This is going to involve some serious discipline (read:  grouchiness) on my part, because of COURSE I would decide to try to pull this off during the most delicious time of year.  But when did I ever do anything the easy way?

4 Comments »

  1. Jen said,

    Buy new pants. You were too skinny back then.

    • Gabrielle said,

      I whole-heartedly agree with Jen on both counts.

  2. Lisa said,

    I didn’t know you then but you are plenty pretty and skinny now. I think I’ve gotten rid of all my way back then skinny skinny pants – all they did was make me obsess and bring me down. Even when I was able to starve myself back into them, it was always ephemeral. Not saying this is the case with you.

  3. Jen: I probably *will* wind up buying new pants, because, hey! new pants! But if thinking about these pants gets me to stay on the treadmill a little longer, it can’t be all bad, right?

    Lisa: Thankfully, these are not from my most gaunt period. It would take some serious effort to get into these the healthy way, but serious effort is supposed to be good for me, right? And thanks!

    Gabrielle: Well, she does have that annoying tendency of being right so often. And really, when would any of us turn down new pants?


Leave a Reply

