December 2, 2009

Humbled.

Posted in *cringe*, Guilt, Nerdiness at 8:13 am by Dagny Taggart

So, back to that day where I was Getting Sh*t Done.

Part of that day involved a trek to the Container Store, where I exercised restraint and picked up only the items I’d ordered online, and refrained from picking up a metric ton of adorable Christmas packaging.  Because this was my first time using this handy pick-up feature, I wandered the store for a moment until I found an employee who was just finishing up with another customer.   As the customer turned to walk past me, he asked how I was doing.

“Fine, thank you” came the automatic response.

The incredibly helpful and cheerful employee helped retrieve my order, and I turned to leave the store – just as the other customer was headed to retrieve his parking stub.  He struck up a conversation, asking how I’d gotten out of the store so quickly, etc.

As I was on my lunch break, I thought I’d gracefully break away by explaining that I had to get back to work, and that I hoped he had a great day.  At which point, he said he’d love to have tea sometime, and if I could remember his email, he’d like to hear from me.

So I listened as he recited his email address, and then went on my merry way.  And then I got to thinking.

Clearly, I wasn’t going to have tea, or coffee, or drinks, with this man.  It would have been the wrong call for a number reasons.  And technically, I was under no obligation to contact him again.  But would it kill me to at least try to let him know?  To not subject him to the uncertainty of no response?  Of course not.

So I thought for a while, and sent a carefully crafted paragraph to the address I remembered… and it boomeranged back, having encountered an immediate rejection from the email server.  “No such address,” it said.

If only I’d had the wherewithal to be that direct at the time…

Leave a Reply

