December 16, 2009

Things that are NOT allowed to happen for $500, Alex

Posted in But I am... le sick, I need a helmet, The Round, The Why, The WTF at 9:38 am by Dagny Taggart

I nearly passed out at work, yesterday.

I was either going to pass out or become more violently ill – I was sure of it.  And then I managed to get through it with some sips of flat soda and between-the-knees head placement.  Which was a good thing, as navigating public transportation back to my abode while on the verge of unconsciousness, while it would have protected me from awareness of my fellow passengers, would not end well, I think.  But I felt better, and I made it home, and I chalked it up to a crash from the caffeine I’d had earlier.

And then I woke up this morning, and in case the lack of coherence in the previous paragraph didn’t tip you off, I’m a bit under the weather.  Seriously sore throat, cloggy eustachian tubes, and the inability to sleep without feeling as though I’ve been drugged – though I haven’t yet consumed anything labeled with oversized N or Q.

This is a problem, you see, as I’m scheduled to bake this weekend.  I’ve taken Friday off, done my shopping for all but one ingredient (I need to find a 10 oz bar of espresso-flavored chocolate), and have a list of 22 (how did THAT happen?) kinds of cookies, complete with baking schedule.  If nothing goes wrong, I should be done by dinnertime on Sunday.

But something is going wrong, because I feel like I swallowed a hedgehog.

So let’s hope that my immune system kicks it into high gear today, shall we?  Because I have to get a LOT done*:

Apricot Marzipan Bars
Strawberry Marzipan Bars
Snickers Fudge
Chocolate Raspberry Bars
Chocolate Caramel Toffee Bars
Baklava
Lemon Tea Cakes
Orange Spice Cookies
Ginger Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies
Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Cherry Nut Rugelach
Peanut Butter Chocolate Balls
Peanut Butter Cookies
Raspberry White Chocolate Whoopie Pies
Russian Tea Cakes
Cranberry Pinwheels
Mocha Cookies
Pecan Tassies
Caramel Bourbon Apple Pie Cookies
Pistachio Biscotti
Macadamia Bars with Eggnog Drizzle

*And just how in tarnation did my list not include a single drop of Nutella?  Hmph!

2 Comments »

  1. vvk said,

    😦 *hugs* hope you feel better…

  2. Lisa said,

    Noooo! Sweetheart! What can I do for you?


Leave a Reply

