January 6, 2010

Emergency

Posted in Guilt, Project: Fail, The Round, The Why at 9:42 am by Dagny Taggart

My Diet Mountain Dew is missing.

Look.  I know I’m eating healthier and working out harder and taking care of myself more.  I know that’s the plan.  But I didn’t sleep well last night and I’m not having sugar these days and there is a REASON I keep an emergency can of diet mountain dew hidden behind my computer monitor at work.

But this morning, after a night of fitful sleep, when I was counting on that beverage to tide me over until 2:30, when I plan to indulge in a sugar-free RedBull, there is no soda lurking about.

Of course, given that I generally only consume caffeine when (1) somnolence is otherwise guaranteed and (2) discreet napping is really not a possibility (although lunchtime may find me curled up under my desk), it’s possible that my brain was sufficiently foggy last time that I don’t actually remember drinking it, and would not have thought to replace it. 

In any case, I will likely make my way to the nearest Dunkin Donuts in relatively short order, where they have delicious coffee.  And donuts.  I just hope I’m not so tired that I inadvertently inhale a donut or two before I come to my senses…

3 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    I loooove Dunkin Donuts flavored coffee! And those little bitty donut hole things – they have some cute name, like nublets or something, don’t they? – barely count. Unless you eat a dozen. Then you kind of have to count them. Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything.

  2. Lisa: Munchkins. You mean munchkins. And cinnamon-coated munchkins are one of my most favoritest things EVER – fortunately for my diet, they tend not to stock them in the smaller D&D’s. 🙂

    I suspect my mom ingested roughly 30,000 gallons of D&D coffee while pregnant with me, given my affinity for the stuff.

  3. beeen there sugar…
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

