January 25, 2010

Group Outings

Posted in Advice I have no business giving, I need a helmet, Project: Fail, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The Gnomes, The Round, The Small and Petty at 10:53 am by Dagny Taggart

I am whole, and replete with a sense of accomplishment.

I did not master the art of the parallel stop, but I did make it down several blue trails, (mostly) unscathed.  Well, a little scathed.

My posterior may or may not be an excellent candidate for a true-color map of the Marianas Trench.

I was one of a group of 7, consisting of two couples and three single gents.  It was a motley crew, as some of the guys worked together, some were high school buddies, and the two contingents hadn’t met before.

Having so many different personalities in a smallish space made me wonder how each person was perceiving the others in the group – not just trying to figure out how I felt about my fellow travelers, but how each of them felt about each other person.

And then I decided that I should probably focus on staying upright and not stabbing anyone with my ski poles (Seriously, parents.  I don’t care how precocious you think your kids are – a two year old does NOT need to be on a relatively difficult blue slope when he/she cannot control their side-to-side movement with any regularity, nor maintain an awareness of persons coming towards them from above).

But it would be pretty cool to be able to listen in on people’s thoughts from time to time, just to figure out how we all work.

1 Comment »

  1. Alias Faux said,

    1) For somebody who claims to be clumsy, you certainly do a lot of sporty things that require a lot of coordination

    2) Your life is infinitely cooler than mine. Marriage is wonderful, but it’s less sparkly than single life. (not complaining, in case She-Who-Must-Be-Obeyed is reading)

    3) Shoot me an email, I want to catch up.


Leave a Reply

