January 28, 2010

Nerves

Posted in 8-ball - pool not narcotics, I need a helmet, Nerdiness, The Process, The Why at 9:06 am by Dagny Taggart

At this point last season, I think I was at… 20%?  25%?  I was on my teams for a variety of reasons, none of which included the expectation of regular victories while I was at the table.  I was having fun, and I never really felt like I wasn’t a valued member of my teams.  My captains made an effort to be even-handed in assigning matches, so I didn’t feel excluded.

And then, I started winning.  Just on Thursday nights, just for the team that I drank with.  But I was winning… a lot.  By the end of postseason, I had somewhere near an 87% record.

Of course, I did my best for my other teams, and managed to pull out a victory for them here and there.  But it was that team – the team for which I won the match that put us on top for the season, where I’d been performing consistently well.

This weekend, that team has a bigger tournament.  I’ll be driving into the hinterlands at a positively ungodly hour, pulling my cue out of its case and wondering exactly how early is too early to get one’s first adult beverage of the day.

I think they might be counting on me, and I’m nervous.

How do you deal with that kind of pressure?

5 Comments »

  1. Carla said,

    Best thing is to try no to think about it. I always feel like the more nervous I am, the more I mess up. At the end of the day, you KNOW how good you can be, so be confident on yourself and show that other team how good you are!

  2. Lemon Gloria said,

    Yikes – stress! Treat yourself – bubble bath, nutella, whatever – the night before so you can relax and try to get a good sleep. I think once you get started you’ll get into your rhythm and it will all be fine. And have fun! That’s awesome!

  3. Alias Faux said,

    If you were a guy, the answer would be easy: punch one out.

    As you’re not, I have no clue.

  4. yay you! just keep in mind..this is a GOOD problem to have!
    xoxo

  5. Carla: A good point. Also, I’m going to go through my closet and look for something intimidating to wear.

    Lisa: Also a fair point – if I get there right when I open, I’ll have an hour to practice and get all the mistakes out of the way…

    Alias Faux: Punch out… one of my opponents? Hm. Perhaps I should change the above “intimidating” to “involving of brass knuckles”?

    suicide blond: Thanks!

    Will nobody tell me how early is too early to start drinking?!?!! 😉


Leave a Reply

