January 29, 2010

Gossip Girl

Posted in 8-ball - pool not narcotics, The Gnomes, The Small and Petty, The Who, The Why, The WTF at 9:30 am by Dagny Taggart

So I was at the pool hall last night, losing one, then winning one, largely minding my own business (which requires a fair amount of minding, these days), and then it happened, again.

There’s another female player who started playing in the same leagues as me a couple seasons ago.  She and I have something (someone) in common, someone that I don’t talk to anymore, but to whom I am civil when the occasion requires.  And though we’ve been playing in the same leagues (twice a week) for at least 6-7 months, now, we have yet to exchange a word.  Which is too bad, because she’s got some killer outfits, and I’d love to know where she shops.

Yet each time I’ve seen her looking at me, it’s involved a stony glare.  Like I … did something to her, kicked her puppy, or maybe made an inappropriate, public accusation about her mom. 

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not necessarily upset about an Alexis Carrington reputation… I’d just like to know what it is I’m supposed to have done.  It seems like it must be terribly exciting.

Then again, perhaps I’m better off in ignorant bliss.  We wouldn’t want me getting any ideas…

xoxo?

3 Comments »

  1. Carla said,

    Sometimes, just being “the ex” is crime enough. I go through the same with the recently-returned-to-town-W&M-alumnus’-wife, even though I have moved on, for the better (no comparison in my book). Girls are silly.

  2. Lemon Gloria said,

    Hmm. Weird. Well, isn’t there that expression about bitterness only destroying the vessel that holds it or something like that? Too bad – I don’t think wearing killer outfits mitigates it.

  3. Carla: Yeah, there’s not much you can do. But given that they’re not together anymore either, you’d think she’d be over that, at least.

    Lemon Gloria: I just don’t get it. She’s pretty petite, anyway – I doubt they carry that stuff in extra-longs.


Leave a Reply

