February 4, 2010

How about a light meal?

Posted in Nerdiness, nutella, The Round at 7:15 am by Dagny Taggart

“Well,” said Milo, remembering that his mother had told him to always eat lightly when he was a guest, “Why don’t we have a light meal?”

“A light meal it shall be,” roared the bug, waving his arms.

The waiters rushed in carrying large serving platters and set them on the table in front of the king.  When he lifted the covers, shafts of brilliant-colored light leaped from the plates and bounced around the ceiling, the walls, across the floor and out the windows.

“Not a very substantial meal,” said the Humbug, rubbing his eyes, “but quite an attractive one.  Perhaps you can suggest something a little more filling.”

~ The Phantom Tollbooth, Norton Juster

I’ve nearly cut out all the sugar.  There’s still Splenda in my tea, but my meals consist of eggs and turkey and carrots and spinach and cottage cheese.

And fruit – grapes and apples and bananas and clementines, because I cannot go completely cold turkey (HAHAHAHA, see what awful puns withdrawal is causing???).  And seriously, I don’t even LIKE turkey.  It’s just so stupidly good for you, I feel like I’d be doing myself a disservice by not including it in my diet.

Honestly, I haven’t felt this twitchy and fidgety since I gave up cigarettes.  And if I can compare sugar to nicotine with nary a qualm, then clearly it was time for the sugar to get the boot.

Now don’t get me wrong – there is still diet soda in my life, if only for the blessed doses of caffeine it brings.  Which I’ve needed less of, since my afternoon blood sugar crashes seem to have leveled off and I’m having an easier time of sleeping at night and all that nonsense.  I have no doubt that this lack of sugar is entirely a good thing.

But that doesn’t mean I have to be happy about it.

3 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    Do you like chili? I got this great 3-bean turkey chili recipe that is quite healthy and filing. And you can’t barely tell it’s turkey in the chili. (I’m not a fan of turkey either…)

    (And going with the bean theme, I also have a great black bean burger recipe that is awesome!)

  2. Lemon Gloria said,

    LOVE the Phantom Tollbooth.

    Sugar is the hardest habit to kick. Man are you going to be crazy healthy. And I don’t mind turkey, but I don’t go out of my way for it.

  3. Beach Bum: Sure thing! Recipes are always welcome. Thanks for the offer!

    Lemon Gloria: Oh, me too. Love love love! I hope so – if not, this is an awful lot of willpower being exercised for nothing.


Leave a Reply

