February 9, 2010

Oh. Right. I live in THAT kind of a place.

Posted in *cringe*, Advice I have no business giving, Nerdiness, Project: Fail, The Just a Little Sad, The Where, The Who, The WTF at 10:12 am by Dagny Taggart

So I decided to go to the gym today, given the low likelihood of my being able to get there tomorrow.  It was rough, because I didn’t get home from pool until 1:20, and didn’t make it into bed until 2:00.  But the alarm went off at 7, and I dragged myself and a can of Red Bull (sugar free) to the house that Arnold built.

And boy, was I glad I did.  See, I normally do something like 30-45 minutes of intense cardio (depending on the workout scheduled for the day), and then hit the weights.  I was planning on doing a light arm day, having done legs yesterday, and anticipating a fair amount of shoveling in the near future.  But as I got on the treadmill, a trainer I’d seen there a few times before approached me and said he’d be interested in giving me a free training session.

Yes, I recognize this is an advertising technique.  And it may have worked, as his rates are pretty reasonable and he’s got a bootcamp thing going on twice a week that might be just the change I need.  But anyway.

Towards the end of the (productive, challenging, mostly body-weight and plyometric oriented session), he mentioned that he trains a couple of kids on a weekly basis.  They are brothers.

They are nine and seven years old, and the parents got the nine-year-old a personal trainer because the nine-year-old is “a little overweight”.

Now, I know that I haven’t seen the child, and the trainer might have been trying to be tactful about a more serious weight problem, but THE CHILD IS NINE.  And I know from personal experience just how damaging it can be to introduce an emphasis on weight at that age – S.E. was 14 when I was 9, and had been in Weight Watchers for 3 years.  And now, neither one of us has an ideal relationship with food.

But I live in THAT kind of a place.  Where helicopter parents don’t want to do anything BUT hover.  Where test scores and weight problems and behavioral abnormalities are things to be farmed out to private tutors, personal trainers, and pharmacists, instead of addressed through gentle guidance over time.

I don’t know.  I was just a little appalled.  Seven.  And Nine.  And already being told that they’re not good enough, that they’re “special”, and not necessarily in a good way.

It makes me sad.

2 Comments »

  1. Lemon Gloria said,

    Wow. Instead of getting out and being more active with their kids and making exercise a fun, together thing, or getting them tennis lessons or something on a team, they’re packing their little kids off to a trainer to slim down. That’s horrendous.

  2. vvk said,

    Blah… crazy parents… the type of organized exercise seven and nine year old kids should be getting is the neighborhood t-ball/baseball team, and soccer team… and running around making snow forts with their friends.

    Blah… silly parents…


Leave a Reply

