February 10, 2010

On the plus side…

Posted in Nerdiness, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The OCD at 10:49 am by Dagny Taggart

I’m working from home, which means I don’t have to go out in that.

Also on the plus side, my tree’s smaller branches have been blown free of snow, giving them a slightly higher chance of making it through the storm.

On the minus side, that doesn’t seem to have helped the several that are currently held aloft only by their brethren, twigs askew.

Also on the minus side, my parking spaces are on the side with the evergreens.  The ones that are totally weighed down by snow, that could quite easily put a dent in my car.

On the plus side, I’m a little too fond of warm and dry to be in a position to see any of that right now.

On the minus side, I’m about to go STARK RAVING MAAAAAAD from all the whiteness.

S.E. went to college in the Snow Belt.  It was grey and snowing from October to April, and in one or two cases, even on graduation day.  Whee, lake effect!  And when she came home for spring break her freshman year, she told us a story of a freshman who had lost it.  Who, studying for midterms, ran outside in the middle of the night, in his boxers and a t-shirt.  Into the 3′ drifts of snow.

And who screamed, “NO MORE SNOW!  I want to see LEAVES.  And FLOWERS.  AND BUGS.  LOTS AND LOTS OF BUGS.  BUT NO MORE SNOOOOOWWWWWWW!!!!!!!”

On the minus side, I know how he felt.

On the plus side, perhaps this marks the beginning of an era of newfound appreciation for insect life.

3 Comments »

  1. Lemon Gloria said,

    I know how he felt as well. I am sooooo over it. I’m about to go out and shovel – not psyched about the shoveling, but the exercise is going to feel good.

  2. Lemon Gloria: I may have to enlist help with the shoveling, as following up yesterday’s personal training session with a couple bouts with Ms. Michaels, this morning, was not the best way to prepare for more stress on my triceps and middle back.

    Thankfully, I have captive “help” close at hand. 😀

  3. vvk said,

    Blah… snow days suck…

    I’ve got a strange combination of stir crazy and overworked. I’ve had three pretty much normal days of work as far as workload goes… but Monday and today I worked from home and haven’t had access to all of the resources I’ve got at the office.

    Blah.


Leave a Reply

