February 15, 2010

Apprehension

Posted in Nerdiness, Project: Fail, The OCD, The Round, The Why at 12:36 pm by Dagny Taggart

I’m giving up cable tv today.

I know.  I know!  Cable TV includes THE FOOD NETWORK.

But, well… I think it will be a good thing.  I have more fun things that I could be spending that money on, for one.  And for another, it will be interesting to see what I do with that time, you know?

Are there any non-tv people out there?  When did you give it up?  Was it hard?

5 Comments »

  1. I’ve been very seriously considering getting rid of my cable TV — I mean, I usually only watch CNN or Holmes on Homes. And, even getting rid of cable, I’ve still got the TV for DVDs or video games or whatever. I do hope it’ll get me to read more, because reading is awesome.

  2. vvk said,

    I’ve lived without a TV since I moved to DC. It’s not actually that bad. It forces me to be social when I want to watch football, and I can still watch the small handful of shows I enjoy online… It’ll force you to change some habits, which is hard, but it’s worth it.

  3. Fluffycat said,

    I got rid of cable about five months ago. The only thing I missed is being able to watch shows live, like LOST and maybe catching some of the Olympics, but really you can download or watch online almost every show. And I love not having to watch commercials!

  4. Carla said,

    I only put up cable TV last August, due to a $30 sale (until then, I was paying for cable so I could get the broadcast networks, since my antenna didn’t pick anything up in VA — the price difference was only another $10 a month).

    Before then, I lived without cable for 10 years, and honestly? Never missed it…

    But I could never get rid of TV completely. Sick days are hard without distractions on TV!

  5. Julie said,

    We got rid of it a few years ago, mostly because we weren’t watching it. We have Hulu for the few things we really do want to watch (and that didn’t happen until this year with Glee and Dollhouse), and we do watch DVDs, but we actually spent the week snowed in without turning it on once. I found that interesting.

    Basically, I realized how much time I was spending watching crap because I couldn’t be bothered to figure out what I really wanted to do. And really, I’d nearly always rather be reading or collaging or screwing around online.


Leave a Reply

