February 17, 2010

Magic Pants

Posted in I need a helmet, Project: Fail, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The Round, The WTF at 9:50 am by Dagny Taggart

Today started off with a debate, a nice long run, a revelation, a few scrapes, and Magic Pants.  More or less in that order.

The alarm (beastly creature) went off just before 4:40.  And had I been less edgy, I would have given in to the desire to stay in the bed for another hour or two.  But I got up for some water, and in the course of confronting the relative chill outside the covers, my brain started working.

Recognizing that getting back to sleep would require effort at this point, I threw on some gym clothes and headed out for my run.  During which I managed to hold a conversation, thus leading to the revelation that I could probably kick the treadmill up a notch or two, at least for intervals, from now on.

This time, I descended the treadmill without incident, carefully stretched the miles away, and felt pretty good about the whole experience, and the start to my day.

That is, until I ventured towards the Metro, much as I did yesterday.  But today, two things were different.

One, a car approached my crosswalk as I was crossing it, and showed no signs of slowing or stopping – despite the fact that I was going to have to either mount a pile of snow taller than yours truly, or stay in the road a bit longer to circumnavigate. 

Two, I chose the latter, rather than brave the “path” a few brave souls had tromped through said pile of snow, as I had done yesterday.  And that decision cost me some dignity and some of the epidermis from my hands.  It led, however, to the discovery that my freshly-dry-cleaned pants are magic – despite being ground into snow, grit, and salt knee-first by the force of my fall, they emerged unscathed.  Not even damp.

My dignity is less magic, it would seem.  Also, my temper experienced a bit of a flare-up.

Seriously, Metro – it’s been long enough.  Shovel the pedestrian walkways at the metro stations, would you?  It’s not safe, especially when cars can’t see pedestrians because of the very snow that’s keeping us from walking where we should.  My pants may be magic, but I don’t think they’d be able to withstand the impact of one of the myriad Volvos that descend on my station with frequency during rush hour.

2 Comments »

  1. Lemon Gloria said,

    Holy cow! At 4:40 this morning I was bitterly, begrudgingly nursing my progeny, desperately wishing I were still asleep. You couldn’t pay me enough to voluntarily get up at that hour, much less exercise.

    And thank goodness you’re OK. It is true – the snow that’s left is a huge hazard.

  2. Lemon Gloria: I was pretty bitter and begrudging this morning too, except that it was directed at my own brain for not staying sluggish and lethargic as it ought to have.

    It’s almost enough to make me write a strongly worded letter.


Leave a Reply

