February 22, 2010

You know what I’d like?

Posted in But I am... le sick, I need a helmet, Project: Fail, The OCD, The Round, The Small and Petty at 11:18 am by Dagny Taggart

I’d like to go more than 4 months without getting food poisoning.  Although at least yesterday’s was more of a very strong *dislike* reaction to breakfast sausage, rather than a full-blown course of agony.  But still.  I can have sushi, soft-boiled eggs, ceviche, and all manner of so-called “risky” foods, but the stuff that gets me is lamb (cross-contaminated with salmonella, thanks!) or not-previously-frozen breakfast sausage.

I’d like to be able to get my mail from various sources without it being violently jammed into my mailbox by a postal worker for whom my condo is close to the end of the route.  I understand that he or she is tired, and I understand that it must be very annoying to carry tons of junk mail all day, and I understand that it might be more time-consuming to wrap each person’s mail into a bundle with the magazines on the outside and smaller pieces on the inside, but I also kind of thought that me getting my mail at least implied getting it intact, and not crumpled into unrecognizable balls of paper.

I’d like to get a full night’s sleep, for real.  One from which I awaken feeling refreshed and ready to start the day, rather than even more tired – as though I’d spent the night sleep-fighting a monster comprised of jersey sheets and synthetic down.

I’d also like a hedgehog.  For a pet.  Because how could you NOT?

7 Comments »

  1. Carla said,

    Yes, I want one!

    That, and sleep through the night. It rarely happens anymore…

  2. Alias Faux said,

    Everybody says that, until their rings go missing.

  3. Brian said,

    Either AF just made the greatest-ever Sonic reference, or I am the biggest dork on the planet for inferring one. In the former case I guess it would be both, but at least I wouldn’t be alone…

    Re: mail – I would just like for postal deliverers to follow the directions, like when it says DO NOT BEND in great big red letters. Having that wrapped around the catalog and wedged into the mailbox is, in a hyphenation, sub-optimal.

  4. vvk said,

    I’d like some sleep as well… For the past month or so, I’ve been wearing a gizmo that monitors my movements at night. If I’m moving too much, it figures I’m not sleeping. It says that I’ve been averaging ~3-3.5 hours of sleep a night. I think I’m getting more, but how much more I’m not sure. sucky.

  5. Lemon Gloria said,

    Yikes – sorry about the sausage-induced discomfort. And boy, does that sound weird.

    And oh my heck is that little hedgehog one of the cutest things I have ever seen! Can you really really have one as a pet? I want one!

  6. Carla: Sorry to hear it! You’ve had a lot of excitement lately, though :o)

    Alias Faux: Mmhmmm…. I totally didn’t get that until Brian commented.

    Brian: After some Googling, I think you read his comment correctly. Envelopes bigger than a catalog wouldn’t fit in my wee little mailbox – so he’d bring it upstairs to my place. But he shoves the letters in first, and the magazines on top of them (he loads the mail from the top), so that all my mail is squooshed!

    vvk: Hm. Sounds like an interesting gadget. It’s been suggested that I should investigate sleeping pills.

    Lemon Gloria: It is weird! A lot of places let you have them as pets, but at least one VA county does not. I’m going to call and double-check with Animal Control for my jurisdiction…

  7. LiLu said,

    I finally convinced B to get our cats because I told him I was getting a hedgehog otherwise.

    I still kind of want one. But Axe Murderer would totally eat him.

    I’ll always have the “Boogie Boogie” version on youtube…


Leave a Reply

