February 24, 2010

Do you hear what I hear?

Posted in Present, The Happy, The Where, The Why at 9:49 am by Dagny Taggart

No, no.  It’s not the backup alarm of the supermarket delivery truck, making its usual 5:30 am stop.  Well, it WAS, but we’re learning to ignore that, slowly, with deep cleansing breaths.

At least whenever I hear that noise, I’m reminded of the scene in My Cousin Vinny :

“Yesterday you told me that freight train hardly ever comes through here at 5:00 in the morning.”

“I know.  She’s supposed to come through here at ten after 4:00.”

But anyway, I can hear something RIGHT NOW, something that makes me so unspeakably happy, it’s a good thing I’m not actually working in my office today (though, one might point out that when one’s office is as far from a window as it is possible to be, in one’s behemoth of an office building, the odds of one hearing something happening outside are slim to none, so unspeakable happiness wouldn’t be happening).

I can hear birds.  Not just cranky, overcompensating-with-forced-cheeriness morning birds that I strongly suspect are telling each other to f*ck off and find their own g@#d^&*ed worms/leftover coffee grounds.  No, these birds are STILL CHIRPING.  Because they are out and about, and enjoying the sunshiney day.  Perhaps they, too, have noticed the teensy red buds on the tree outside my window, have noticed that they can get to the ground to find breakfast without diving through frozen white stuff.

Maybe they’re just glad that it’s not snowing or freezing, at the moment.  Maybe they’re rehashing that moment they had with Tippi Hedren, and plotting a sequel.  Maybe they’re discussing how humans are idiots and ruining the planet for everyone else, maybe they’re about to take care of some business right on top of my car.

I don’t care.  Right now, I could listen to them for hours, because it sounds like spring.

And not a moment too soon.

2 Comments »

  1. Carla said,

    Maybe I shouldn’t tell you about the winter storm watch we have?

    I can’t wait for spring. Real spring, with no impending threats of snow.

  2. Lemon Gloria said,

    My Cousin Vinny is one of my all time favorite movies ever.

    Also, I am so excited at the prospect of spring. I need it so badly.


Leave a Reply

