February 25, 2010

Boys don’t make passes…

Posted in I need a helmet, Nerdiness, The OCD, The Why at 9:29 am by Dagny Taggart

I’m wearing my glasses today.  I’ve been wearing them for the past couple of days, as my right eyelid has been suspiciously puffy and any attempt to put on mascara made my eyelashes itch.  While those of us with allergies are familiar with this phenomenon, and it’s generally nothing to worry about, I thought it might be a good time to just let that part of my body “reset” itself.

And so, I’m wearing glasses.

The thing that makes wearing glasses both fun and migraine-inducing, for me, is that my vision is *atrocious* without them.  I have a high differential between my prescriptions – my left eye is legally blind, whereas my right eye is only about halfway there.  Throw in some astigmatism, and you’ve got a recipe for serious headaches.  Especially when you factor in that wearing lenses large enough to cover my peripheral version would mean wearing glasses weighing several pounds.  So, I wear glasses that do not cover my peripheral vision, and am thus treated to a small area of visibility surrounded by visual quicksand – a blurry mess into which all objects sort of melt.

The nice thing about this, however, is that I can treat myself to a different world so much more readily.  You’re forced to focus on the big picture when you’re so nearsighted that the best you can do is a fuzzy outline, even if the object in question is a building 15 yards away.  And when you’re a slightly neurotic, OCD-tendencied type A-minus personality, being relieved of the burden of details is actually a lovely treat. 

I’d do it more often, if it weren’t for the migraines.

3 Comments »

  1. Lemon Gloria said,

    Oh, lovey. I think it’s good to give your eyes a break, but ugh, the headaches. I have the opposite, in that I’m totally farsighted. I can walk around seeing things without my glasses, but can’t read. And I have an astigmatism, so eventually I do get a headache with no glasses on. Unless I let my eyes go fuzzy. No focusing, no headache for me. And it’s a nice way to tune out the details of the world.

  2. Alias Faux said,

    I often complain that I am colorblind, but I suppose this is countered by the fact I don’t need glasses.

  3. Lemon Gloria: Sadly, I had to be non-fuzzy for most of the day, but the headache could definitely be worse. Funny aside – my dad was getting progressively more farsighted as time went on, and he’d just keep holding the newspaper out farther and farther. Which is more amusing when one considers the arm length of a 6’6″ man…

    Alias Faux: Hm. I’m not sure that I’d trade, honestly, but ask me again in a few years (my vision, it seems, is only getting worse).


Leave a Reply

