February 26, 2010

Two out of three ain’t bad…

Posted in *cringe*, 8-ball - pool not narcotics, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The Small and Petty, The Who, The Why, The WTF at 10:19 am by Dagny Taggart

Of course, three out of three would have been better.  I played one regular match and two makeup matches last night (thank you, O Terrible Gods of Snow and Cold), and managed to recover from my loss to win my two regularly scheduled matches.

While I was playing well, I was definitely off my game – part of which, I suspect, was because I had worn my glasses all day and then switched to contacts in order to play (playing in my glasses would NOT have gone well, because of the aforementioned peripheral vision issues).  My eyes were, I think, still adjusting to the change.

Oh, and the terrible, awful, no-good, very bad headache didn’t help matters.

The whole night was strange, though.  And the strangeness started when I walked in, took off my coat, started chatting with my teammates, and was interrupted by another player from another team – an older gentleman, who’d tried to make conversation with me before, and who not only has problems remembering my name, but who seems like he’s potentially interested in breaking my rule.  So I’ve been cordial, but not particularly friendly.

So this guy, whom we’ll call Louis (pronounced the French way), interrupted my conversation to thrust a box of tapes (like a book-on-tape box) into my hand, and explain that they were readings of some of the most important Supreme Court decisions.  And he said that they were by way of an apology for something unkind he’d said a few weeks prior.

*blink*

*blink*

I have no recollection of anything kind, or unkind, that this man might have said.  Which makes me think that he perhaps didn’t say it to me, but was afraid it might get back to me.  Which makes me wonder what, exactly, it WAS that he might have said.

However, I’ve learned the hard way that I’m usually much better off not knowing.  Because the things people say when they’re not thinking about who might eventually hear them?  Can be really and truly awful.

So, I’m just going to listen to the words of the Supreme Court Justices – because they are, in general, highly intelligent people who were, I suspect, very much aware that large numbers of people were going to be reading and listening to the things they said.

2 Comments »

  1. Lemon Gloria said,

    OK, so this is fascinating. He said something maybe to you, maybe about you. And it was maybe very unkind or maybe was even something you found totally innocuous…but he thought was unkind enough that he’s given you a box of tapes of Supreme Court decisions. It’s kind of like a movie, actually.

  2. Alias Faux said,

    Even if you never find out what was said, his form of apology will likely grant you at least one piece of wisdom, and will unburden him. You are both bettered by the action, and thus the world improves marginally.

    Sounds like a good thing to me.


Leave a Reply

