March 1, 2010

The dangers of shopping via catalog/online

Posted in *cringe*, Project: Fail, The Small and Petty, The WTF at 12:33 pm by Dagny Taggart

As we may have discussed, I buy a lot of my clothes online.  This has to do with a number of factors, not the least of which is that when one has a 35″ inseam, and is female, and is not 50 years old, one’s in-store options are limited.  Actually, that’s one of the options.  Limited, Express, Banana Republic, J. Crew, and GAP all carry long pants, J. Crew carries an acceptable selection of tall jackets, and NY & Co. carries tall suits.  And I make use of these resources from time to time.

But also, I don’t want to look exactly like every other woman who works in DC, just built on a slightly taller scale than most.  So, I like to mix it up.  Especially for “going out” clothes, because many of the options at the above-mentioned stores bore me, a lot.  I’m not really into loud accessories, so I prefer that my clothes make a bit more of a statement.

So, I order things online, that can’t be found in every mall across America.  From stores that most of my friends probably haven’t heard of.  And one side effect of this habit is that I get random catalogs from time to time.   It’s kind of fun, guessing which store sold my address to which company – why do they think I would like this stuff?

Sometimes, it is, quite frankly, insulting.  WHY do they think I would like this stuff?!?!  It makes me wish that I really DID know exactly who sent me the catalog, so I could write them a note explaining that while I enjoyed their offerings, I won’t be partaking any more, since they have apparently determined that I am in my fifties, shopping on a very limited budget, and in need of an optical checkup, and have effectively told me so by sending me this catalog*.

*Apparently, Danielle of ANTM fame was doing pretty well there for a while – but in the catalog I received, she looks pretty bitter about some of the ensembles she’s forced to sport.  Unless the grinding-teeth smile is *the* new weapon in a top model’s arsenal?

Leave a Reply

