March 19, 2010

That kind of friend.

Posted in *cringe*, I need a helmet, Nerdiness, The Happy, The Who at 8:09 am by Dagny Taggart

“I’ve just dyed my hair purple.”

“Okay.”

“It’s sort of a plummy violet*.”

“I’m sure it looks good on you.  What do YOU think?”

“Well, I thought it was going to be really cool.  But now I wonder.  Because my eyes are blue, you see, and maybe this makes my head look like a giant bruise?”

“Oh.  Well, I’m sure that’s NOT the case, because if anyone could pull off plummy violet hair, it would be you.  Nobody thinks you look like a giant bruise-head.”

“and… AND.  I’m sure you’d make having a giant bruise-head the in look for next season, anyway.”

😀

I highly recommend getting one, if you can.

*My hair is not, nor has it ever been, plummy violet.  This friend has, however, seen me through truly ill-advised platinum blond, followed by bozo-the-clown-orange, followed by a color (to cover up the orange) that actually had the word BEIGE in it.  And she did not say the wrong thing ever, not even once.

2 Comments »

  1. Lemon Gloria said,

    Those are very good kinds of friends. I’ve had the beige. And apricot – the result of a temporary black hair dye that really isn’t temporary for blondes. Which it said on the package.

    I bet plummy violet would look very pretty with your eyes, btw.

  2. Lemon Gloria: I know! Beige! argh.

    And as someone who has done the dark-back-to-light thing, I feel your pain. I wound up cutting most of it off, and coloring what was left until it rather resembled ginger straw.


Leave a Reply

