March 25, 2010

Biannual Tango

Posted in But I am... le sick, I need a helmet, Project: Fail, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The Just a Little Sad, The Ouch at 8:39 am by Dagny Taggart

Longer ago than I care to admit, I had some minor surgery to remove some cancerous cells.

Seriously.  Compared to what other people go through when THEY have cancer, this was nothing.  In fact, the doctors all seemed to avoid saying that I had cancer, likely because the category in which I fell indicated that it was barely over the cusp of becoming cancer.

So, I had biopsies, then an outpatient procedure, and then a truckload of monitoring for a year or two after.  And then I had a year, maybe two, of apparent normalcy.

The problem is, abnormal cells don’t walk around with large signs announcing their presence to doctors.  They can hide, sometimes.  And so, the biannual tango began.

It starts with a regular visit.  And the usual tests are run.  And then two weeks later, I get phone call, and the results come back “abnormal”.  And so I go back, and get biopsied.  And then I wait a few more weeks.  And then they tell me that it’s not great, but it’s not the end of the world, and if I could just come back in 6 months, they’ll check me again.  Dip, turn.

And then I go.  And the usual tests are run.  And then two weeks later I get a phone call, and the results come back “abnormal”.  And so I go back, and I get biopsied.  And then I wait a few more weeks.  And then they tell me that it’s still not great, but it’s not the end of the world, and if I could just come back in 6 months, they’ll check me again.

6 7 8 and 1…

I have no idea what I would do with all of my spare time, if it all just went away.  Maybe some dancing lessons.

6 Comments »

  1. vvk said,

    😦 this sort of thing is always stress-inducing.. *hugs*

  2. Lemon Gloria said,

    Oh, goddammit. Stress.

  3. Brian said,

    In this case, I will certainly be hoping for the ploddingly neutral…

  4. vvk: Thanks. And yes, there is some stress – but that stress is greatly relieved when I realize how lucky I am to have good insurance and good doctors and enough education, etc. to take care of myself. Also, Nutella 🙂

    Lemon Gloria: Yah, stress. See the above about Nutella, and add Cadbury eggs to that. Also, hardcore workouts with personal trainers make one too tired and sore to stress! 🙂

    Brian: Most definitely, let’s hope for the ploddingly neutral. Thanks.

  5. crap…
    hate when this happens…
    thinking of you…
    xoxo

  6. suicide_blond: Thanks – I appreciate it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

