March 30, 2010

Things that used to suck

Posted in *cringe*, I need a helmet, Nerdiness, Project: Fail, The Just a Little Sad, The Small and Petty, The Who, The Why, The WTF at 3:12 pm by Dagny Taggart

When someone you thought might be a cool person, someone you might be able to be friends with, makes it perfectly clear that she is not at all interested in being friends with you.

Not that this is something that anyone WANTS to experience – but at least I’ve gotten to the point where, unless I can think of something I’ve done to offend the person, I can let it go instead of taking it personally and stewing.

Well, at least, instead of taking it personally and stewing about it for any longer than it takes to write this post.Β  Annnndddd…. done!

4 Comments »

  1. Brian said,

    The downside is that saying, “their loss” has become a bit of a trope. the upside is, in some cases it’s still true. πŸ˜€

  2. Lemon Gloria said,

    Clearly, there is something wrong, very wrong, with her. Because I can’t think of a single reason why anyone wouldn’t want to be friends with you. And I understand you on the stewing, and glad it’s gotten briefer as the years have passed.

  3. Alias Faux said,

    I think this may have happened to me recently. I was in a group in school with this guy, and we got along great, and had a ton of similar interests, and made plans to hang out after school ended, and he has blown me off like 5 times since.

    It’s not really that I’m hurt, it’s that I am completely caught off guard. I can generally tell when somebody doesn’t like me, and the last day of school, if you’d have asked, I’d have told you that this dude would end up being a really good buddy of mine. Dunno, maybe I’m less charming than I thought >:/

  4. Brian: Thanks πŸ™‚

    Lemon Gloria: Well, I’m not for everyone, apparently. Which is fine – it’s just usually so much more obviously mutual than in this case.

    Alias Faux: Huh. Or maybe he’s less genuine/sincere than you thought. But I really think that if you can’t think of anything you’ve said or done that would have annoyed a reasonable person, then I think you just have to chalk it up to circumstances beyond your control, you know? :/ indeed


Leave a Reply

