April 9, 2010

Unkind

Posted in *cringe*, 8-ball - pool not narcotics, Guilt, Project: Fail, The Just a Little Sad at 8:11 am by Dagny Taggart

Guess where I was last night!  Guess!  Guess!

If you said, “somewhere in Northern Virginia playing pool”, you’d be right.

I played (and won!) two matches pretty early on, then stayed to socialize and practice for a bit.  I got caught up in conversation with a guy who walked up and asked if we were playing in a league.  I replied in the affirmative, and then we started to talk about (1) pool, and (2) New Orleans, where he was from and where I’ll be going, soon.

The conversation was pleasant enough, but had been going on for kind of a while.  At one point, he thanked me for talking to him so much.  And at several points, I noted with envy that one of my teams was doing shots over by their table, that people I wanted to catch up with were gathering up their things.

So when the gentleman excused himself to use the restroom, I popped over to chat with my other team, towards the back of the bar.  And when he emerged, he looked around.  I think he saw me.  And then he left.

And yes, it was exactly what it looked like.  He gave me an opportunity to slip away, and I bolted.  Because we’d been talking for over an hour, ferpete’ssake.  But I still feel like I was less kind than I might have been – as though I should have said something, that it was nice to meet him, at least.  Ugh.

I don’t like feeling unkind.

2 Comments »

  1. Lemon Gloria said,

    You’re a really really kind person, and if his feelings were hurt, he hurt his own feelings, honestly. He might’ve been hopeful, but I am certain he didn’t think you were not nice to him.

  2. Lemon Gloria said,

    Oh, and congrats on winning!!


Leave a Reply

