April 21, 2010

A Weekend Night, Part II

Posted in *cringe*, Advice I have no business giving, Nerdiness, The Just a Little Sad, The Small and Petty, The Who, The Why, The WTF at 10:47 am by Dagny Taggart

Have you ever started out an evening resigned to fending off someone else’s attempts to insert drama, and wound up just wanting to give them a great big hug?

As mentioned, I met my friend’s wife, Amy.  And initially, we didn’t have all that much to talk about – and I thought that maybe we wouldn’t get along at all.  But then she broke out her flask, and the conversation was more forthcoming.

Conversation, for example, about her husband.  Whom she accused of being extremely critical of her, and of being antisocial around everyone but her.  Which was a bit weird, at least from the perspective of someone who’s known him for over a year.  And thus, I thought she might just be in constant need of that combination of sympathy/praise/attention that drama is uniquely suited to provide, and resigned myself to supplying her with as many piscis laudatius as she seemed to require.

 It was afterward, when we got to the show, and suddenly, she was pulling me into the “pit” area, right in front of the stage.  And it was just the two of us, because everyone else had sort of congregated elsewhere.   And again, she seemed intent on telling me why I should be on her side – she asked to borrow my skirt (?!?) and then suggested that it might be too small.  When I obligingly replied that if anything, it would likely be too big, she suggested I repeat that in front of her husband.  Because he was always saying how big she was, you see.

And then we went up to the restroom, and she said that I wasn’t at all what she had expected.  And I said that I’d take that as a compliment, even though I didn’t know what she meant.  And she said, “Oh, it’s definitely a compliment.  Nothing’s too good for my love.”

Which, um.  Ooooookay.  Not sure *what* she meant by any of that exactly, but I *am* kind of sure that I’m not crazy about the implications of what she might have meant. 

And it would have been SO easy to take offense (even if it was just internally).  But when I stopped to think about it for a second, I realized that she was pretty drunk.  And also, probably pretty sad, if she actually believed even half the things she’d said over the course of the evening.

And so really, I just wanted to give her a hug and tell her everything was okay.

2 Comments »

  1. Velvet said,

    Very odd – she sounds like she really just was waiting for someone to listen to her. And there you were!

  2. Velvet: Very odd, indeed – especially when she seemed to be implying that she thought there was something between me and her husband. But all’s well that ends well, I suppose!


Leave a Reply

