April 27, 2010

Recovered

Posted in Guilt, Nerdiness, The Happy, the pretty, The Round, The Why at 7:56 am by Dagny Taggart

Honestly, it really didn’t take that long.  Compared to birthdays past, it was a portrait of moderation in all things, including moderation.

When Thursday is one’s birthday, and Thursday is also one’s league night, one warns one’s teams that one might not play one’s best.  Which is why I’m not at all upset about losing the one match that I played.  Also, there was alcohol to enfuzz my memory.  And, there was cake. 

Cake!  For me!  With my name on it!  And singing!  It was a total surprise.

W took me home, and promised to help me retrieve my car the next day, which I mostly spent lazing about.  Mostly, that is, until I couldn’t take it any more, and went for a run in the lovely spring weather, because I fail at sloth.

It really is so much easier to keep going, once you start to see good progress.  Once things start to fit better, and you can see the lines just beginning to show around your abdominal area, and you can look at the stack of jeans in your closet and daydream, instead of wincing.

And so yes – I am recovered from the weekend of birthday celebration – but I feel like I’m also recovering from the past year or so of being just a little too indulgent, just a little too much of the time.  Recuperation is a process, but I honestly feel like I’m getting better after a long illness of sorts.

It will be *great* to be 100% healthy again.

Leave a Reply

