April 28, 2010

I don’t watch SNL

Posted in The Angry, The Small and Petty, The WTF at 10:11 am by Dagny Taggart

though, I’ve seen Tina Fey in action via hulu and youtube, and I think she’s mostly hilarious.

ButI have to say (and she’s just a famous example of this), I have a few issues with her recent comments about Michelle McGee.

Getting a tattoo, or eleventy billion, says absolutely NOTHING about someone’s ethics or moral values.  Nothing.  You can get a sense for that person’s aesthetic, and maybe make an educated guess about his or her tolerance for pain, but that’s about it.  I wonder how many of the Patriot Guard Riders have full sleeves – heck, full “suits” of tattoos?  I wonder how many people might see one of them on the street, and dismiss them as “trash” or “low-class” on the basis of their appearance? 

I know that at least one of Ms. McGee’s tattoos suggest she may be a white supremacist, and that’s not something I can stomach, really – but attacking her on the basis that she looks like “a dirtbag’s binder from 7th grade metal shop” is ad hominem, and weak, and going for the cheap shot when other issues are so much more important.  And frankly, I expected better from someone who has demonstrated intelligence and wit, in the past.  And frankly, I expected at least as much bile directed towards the man who actually broke his vows.  And who, it might be noted, has quite a few tattoos of his own.  As does Brad Pitt.  Funny, I don’t remember those being a major part of the discussion when he left Jennifer Aniston for Angelina Jolie – but the tattoos of the latter most definitely marked her for suspicion in the eyes of the press.

For the record, I have tattoos.  Three of them, not typically visible in the workplace (or, given my daily wardrobe choices, most other times).  That’s my choice, and other than suggesting a desire to express myself that is at war with a desire to conform to typical upper-middle class aesthetic mores, it doesn’t say jack shit about my character.

I can be a woman with ink, and still be a good person.  And anyone who says differently is, quite frankly, an asshole.  Which, I guess, makes Tina Fey kind of an asshole.  Which is sad, because when she’s not being an asshole, she’s actually kind of funny.

6 Comments »

  1. Alias Faux said,

    I imagine that it would be relatively difficult to be a successful satirist and NOT be an asshole.

    Satire is, by its very nature, the province of assholes.

  2. Alias Faux: Well, except that she wasn’t being a satirist here. When she’s “being” Sarah Palin, she’s satirizing her. In this case she was not “being” Michelle McGee, just saying nasty things about her.

  3. Alias Faux said,

    Sure, but I think it’s rare to be a part-time asshole.

    I think if one is an asshole sometimes, they’re probably, overall, an asshole.

  4. Alias Faux: Do you think Jon Stewart is an asshole?

    Note: If your answer is yes, I reserve the right to pretend I never asked the question, in the interest of preserving/maintaining our friendship. Kidding. Sort of.

  5. Lemon Gloria said,

    I think you can be a sometimes asshole. Or anyway, I think I am. It’s very person- and situation-specific, my assholiness.

    And Jon Stewart, no, absolutely not.

  6. Alias Faux said,

    Dagny,

    I have to admit it, I’d imagine that he probably is. I just think an evening with him would be an overwhelming tidal wave of smirks, political humor, and “look how clever I am” one liners that would make me want to tell him “shut up, relax, and have a good time”.

    Really, it’s not surprising considering where he went to school. All those folks are like that :^O


Leave a Reply

