May 7, 2010

STILL upset

Posted in 8-ball - pool not narcotics, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The Angry, The Ouch at 8:49 am by Dagny Taggart

Last night, I played twice.  I won one, I lost one.

I was annoyed at my coaches both times.  But the one I’m still mad about, was the one where my coach essentially told me that I was going to lose, so I should use the game as a learning experience, and experiment with different types of shots/English that I don’t normally take.  I missed my very next shot, and lost.

Now, I’m not an idiot, or illogical, most of the time.  And I knew I was going to lose – the girl I was playing was on a completely different level (we can discuss her ranking/sandbagging/completely snotty attitude later). 

But there’s something about someone else saying out loud – someone who was supposed to be on my team – that completely demoralized me.  And afterward, I told him I thought that was a jerky thing to do – and it was implied that I was overreacting, that I was taking it the wrong way.

I don’t know.  I think that in general, unless you have something to say that will get me closer to winning the game at hand, maybe you can just shut the hell up.  Telling me that I’m going to lose under the guise of “taking the pressure off” doesn’t survive a cost-benefit analysis.

Asshole.

4 Comments »

  1. David said,

    Agreed.

  2. vvk said,

    I think it’s fine for someone who is out there on the field playing with you (obviously this implies a non-individual sport) to acknowledge that you’re going to lose. S/he is going out there with you even after the acknowledgment, and that earns them the right to be realistic.

    But a coach should never say something like that… Someone on the sidelines in an advisory / directors role… never. Its demoralizing. Their job is to help you look up when things are going badly, and keep you aimed in the right direction even if you’re going to lose. Maybe you won’t lose quite so badly. Maybe you’ll hang in by the skin of your teeth long enough that your opponent implodes. Who know…

  3. Lemon Gloria said,

    Agree. Completely and totally agree. It was a stupid, crappy thing to do. Hugs to you.

  4. David: Thanks! It’s nice to have backup…

    vvk: True. And that was my point, and I wonder how he’d have felt if I’d given up in other, similar matches that I’d managed to win. At the same time, we’re all only human, and sometimes we let our fears and doubts show when it’s least convenient for those around us.

    Lemon Gloria: Yeah, it was. Thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

