May 10, 2010

I Did This To Myself

Posted in But I am... le tired, I need a helmet, Nerdiness, The Happy, The Round, The Where, The Why at 8:51 am by Dagny Taggart

But, I Have Managed To Convince Myself That I Should Eat Dark Chocolate Every Ninety Minutes, So How Bad Can 4 Hours Of Sleep Be, Really?

I had one of those bizarre weekends where I did not manage to sleep in nearly as late as one might think.  And last night, I went to bed at 12:30, having been pretty awake up until that point waiting for the ibuprofen to kick in so that neither spasmodic “lower back pain”* nor random convulsions of my gastrocnemius muscles** would interfere with sweet, sweet slumber.

And then I woke up at 4:45, to get to the gym this morning and then drop off dry cleaning that I have to pick up at 6:00 pm today if I’m going to have anything to wear in New Orleans later this week.  Because I’m going to New Orleans for work, this week***. 😀

And then I got into the office and the first email I see is a daily digest of some personal interest to me, that highlights an article about a study done on mice in which epicatechin, a flavenol ingredient in dark chocolate, significantly reduced stroke damage in mice, when administered within 90 minutes of the attack.  So clearly, I should eat dark chocolate every 90 minutes, just in case I’ve unwittingly had a stroke.  You probably should, too.

You’re welcome.

*oooh, look!  A present from the euphemism fairy!
**So, my new running shoes have made it possible for me to run 4-5 days a week, except that my trainer really worked my legs last Wednesday, and when I went for my run on Friday, I could but hobble in pain for the last 1.75 miles.  Strictly muscle pain, but boy howdy – when my calves are tired, they don’t f*ck around.
***Sure, be jealous, because I would be too.  But just so you’re not too jealous, let me also mention that my new cue?  The one I’ve been drooling over for forever?  It’s supposed to get here TOMORROW.  After I LEAVE.  I don’t get back until Friday.  That is entirely too long to have to go without playing with my preciousssssss.****
****Heh.  That sounds really dirty.  I should get 4 hours of sleep more often.  Also, I think I’ve given the euphemism fairy another phrase to use!

4 Comments »

  1. vvk said,

    hmmm… If you got more than the 4 hours of sleep, maybe you wouldn’t have to worry quite so much about the stroke:
    http://www.journalsleep.org/ViewAbstract.aspx?pid=27780

    Or hit the gym quite so often:
    http://www.journalsleep.org/ViewAbstract.aspx?pid=27781

    Though your drive and ability to work out as hard as you do amazes me.

    🙂

  2. vvk: Thanks for the articles! And yes, more sleep is definitely a good thing. Well, except for the part where it makes chocolate consumption slightly less justifiable, because how can THAT be a desirable outcome? 🙂

  3. Lemon Gloria said,

    I’m with VVK on the more sleep. But you function a lot better than I do with a lot less. I see no reason not to head for the chocolate every 90 minutes, though. It seems like a good precautionary measure — kind of like seat belts.

  4. Lemon Gloria: And we know that I am a Very Precautionary Person. In fact, I should be precautionary right now…


Leave a Reply

