July 6, 2010

Queasy

Posted in *cringe*, Advice I have no business giving, But I am... le tired, I need a helmet, Nerdiness at 12:04 pm by Dagny Taggart

Sibling Extraordinaire and I were chatting earlier today, and she pointed out that everyone uses the word “nauseous” wrong.  Also, I have no idea if I’ve spelled it right.  But we didn’t talk about my spelling issues.

Apparently, everyone uses nauseous to describe their own lack of intestinal fortitude, when “to be nauseated”, in its various appropriate tenses, is the correct word to use, here.  Nauseous is the word one uses to describe something that makes one be nauseated.

Example: 

Your wretched grammar is nauseous.  I now require ginger ale.

All of which comes to mind primarily because I woke up at 4:30 this morning, having gone to bed at midnight.  And I made myself snooze until 5:00, and then got up and went to the gym.  Right now, I am so tired I am nauseated.  and possibly nauseous, given that my dark circles probably aren’t doing my appearance any favors.

2 Comments »

  1. Lemon Gloria said,

    I am certain I use them interchangeably, thereby nauseating you.

    Also, very sorry. Maybe ginger ale and crackers and ibuprofin? And hugs?

  2. Miranda said,

    Huh, I did not know that!
    And also decimated. I believe that when something is decimated it is actually only had 10% of it destroyed, not the whole thing. Whaddaya know!


Leave a Reply

