July 15, 2010

Grey suede pumps and other miscellania

Posted in *cringe*, I need a helmet, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, the pretty at 1:21 pm by Dagny Taggart

Thirty dollars plus shipping, people.  For the perfect grey suede stiletto?  I’ll take that.  Alloy – the clothes are mostly in juniors sizes, but the shoes?  Fair game, by my way of thinking.

I know this might draw a little heat, but I just feel it’s necessary to point out that nine times out of ten, the drivers in Northern VA who piss me off the most?  Do not have VA tags.  These people stop too far from the intersection, thereby failing to trigger privileged greens AND exacerbating gridlock behind them.  Where they’re going is a secret to everyone including them, apparently, as they never ever use turn signals nor seem capable of merging into the appropriate lane before making a turn across multiple lanes of traffic.  They go below the speed limit on roads where passing is not permitted, and insist on backing into parking spaces despite being really terrible at it.   Really, they’re just IN MY WAY.  For all that people from these various places try to claim that VA is a horrible, backwards place not worth visiting, let alone living in, they sure as heck spend a lot of time driving here, and it’s pissing me off.

Why yes, my Klonopin script DID just run out.  Why do you ask?  I’m just going to go stare at my pretty, 4½” heeled shoes for a while.

6 Comments »

  1. Alias Faux said,

    So you’re like 6’6 in those, right?

    • 6’3.5″, give or take. 😀

      • vvk said,

        Still short… 😛

        Also, I’m with Carla… all DC area drivers suck… probably including me. :-\

  2. I gotta say, drivers in the DC metro area in general are horrible, VA ones included.

    -Not using a turn signal until they come to a complete stop and make you stuck behind them.

    -Driving 20mph on a 35 mph limit (for no reason).
    -U-turning from a parking spot in front of you when there’s no one behind you (couldn’t they have just waited instead of forcing me to use my breaks and have a mild heart attack?)

    -Tapping their breaks over and over and over and over and over and over again, when there’s nothing and no one in front of them.

    -Not moving when the light turns green.

    -Refusing to make a right turn on red, even when the road is clear and there’s no signs preventing you to do do (or the sign says “no turn on red when pedestrians are present” and there is not one pedestrian within blocks)

    -Slamming on their breaks when the light turns yellow, making me miss the intersection.

    -They cut you off, you honk at them, then they honk back.

    -Speeding up to change lanes in front of you (or more accurately, cutting me off because people here refuse to check if there’s someone already on that lane), only to slow down to below your speed after they change lanes (dude, go behind me if you can’t keep up with traffic!).

    -And the one I see MULTIPLE times a day: NOT pulling forward on an intersection when you’re making a left turn. They wait BEHIND the crosswalk, which means the light will change and no one will get a chance to go, or they’re the only ones that make it through.

    -And what’s up with the guaranteed traffic as soon as it rains? Even if it’s a light drizzle? It’s like they’re all going “AAAAH, WATER FROM THE SKY, WHAT’S HAPPENING? ARMAGEDDON!”

    I could say I wrote too much, but I haven’t written nearly enough. It’s a breath of fresh air when I go up to NJ/NY and drive with people that actually knows what they’re doing.

  3. Lemon Gloria said,

    Pretty pretty! I’ve been thinking about the Steve Madden shoes I do not need…

    It’s the Pennsylvania drivers who are almost always in my way in DC. When it’s not the Virginia ones. 🙂

  4. Carla: The rain thing is truly boggling.

    Lemon Gloria: I think you DO need them. I’m not sure why, but I’m sure we could rationalize something.

    I didn’t realize there was such a plethora of PA drivers in DC! And fortunately for both of us, I only very rarely drive in the District. 😉


Leave a Reply

