July 20, 2010

I am a grown woman. I will not wear booties.

Posted in *cringe*, Advice I have no business giving, The Small and Petty at 8:24 am by Dagny Taggart

Not going to happen!

I will wear boots.  I will wear shoes.  I will wear low boots, or high shoes*.  I will not wear something that could be confused, verbally, with something recently worn by my niece and nephew. 

Seriously, people.  Shouldn’t we insist that marketers treat us like adults, and come up with better names for adult footwear than “booties”?

Don’t even get me started on how they’ve managed to convince a significant segment of the female population that gladiator sandals, and variations on that theme, are even the tiniest bit attractive.  Ugh.

*Though honestly, I probably wouldn’t wear any of the things currently described as booties, because I don’t see any reason to make my legs look stumpy or my feet look like hooves (lessons I learned in the eighth grade or so, the last time these things were allegedly the epitome of fashion).

3 Comments »

  1. Lemon Gloria said,

    I love the gladiators. If I had your nice long legs, I would absolutely wear them. Alas, they are shortening. Which is the exact opposite of what I need.

    Also, I think booties are icky.

    That’s all.

  2. Lemon Gloria: My primary issue with the gladiator shoes is that most of them are flat, with very thin soles, which creeps me out. To me, the point of shoes is to keep my feel away from the ground!

  3. Go Betty said,

    here here on the gladiator shoes. Also I have cankles so none fit me. I wouldnt wear them anyway. That is all.


Leave a Reply

