August 3, 2010

Odds and Ends

Posted in But I am... le tired, The Funny, The Happy, the pretty, The Where, The Why at 9:13 am by Dagny Taggart

A long weekend of pure indulgence and somehow, my suit fits better than it did before I left.  Perhaps standing around in 4″ heels for 6+ hours a night is a decent substitute for an hour or so of cardio?

I think I prefer Vegas weather. 

I do not prefer Vegas cabdrivers.

Also, hanging out at places where you cannot see outside at all can lead to some disconcerting realizations – like how you somehow managed to leave at 7:30 in the morning, some 5 hours after you really, honestly intended to get back to your hotel.

The gold lamé dress was fantastic.

So were these boots – not at the same time, I assure you.

There are no photos – which might be for the best.  I am, apparently, the kind of person who goes to Vegas and forgets her camera.  But the beauty of Vegas is that the experience can be everything.  When you leave, you have this vague, blurry sense of awesomeness, and the thought that it might be fun to go back… just as soon as you’ve had enough time to recover.

4 Comments »

  1. Lemon Gloria said,

    Welcome home! You wore those boots??? Holy crap! You kick ass!

    Very sad about no photos.

  2. vvk said,

    I’m not sure what to make of this… but when I saw the picture of those boots, my first thought was “hmm… those might take up as much space as my shoes do. I wonder how she packed them.”

    I hate packing shoes on vacations. My shoes/feet are too big.

    Also, Welcome Home… glad you had fun. 🙂

  3. Go Betty said,

    Welcome back 🙂 I wondered if you had ‘gone to vegas’ Golly at those boots they are freakin awesome and I checked out other stuff on the website and now I wonder if they would send shoes to New Zealand. Our shoes totally suck down here unless you want to pay NZ$600.00 a pair for nice ones.
    I love shoes, I would love some kickass boots too but none ever fit my ginormous calves and cankles.
    Maybe you could do some drawings like LG in the absence of photos 🙂

  4. Lemon Gloria: I did! I did wear the boots! I think I’m 6’3″ or 6’4″ in them, which is kind of fun.

    vvk: As someone with Feet of Size, I sympathize. I actually packed two bags – a medium-sized one for my shoes, and a small one for my clothes. *sigh*

    Go Betty: Thanks! And Rivithead is a very fun site – though I wonder if shipping to NZ might not raise the price equally high? I’ve actually had some luck finding cute shoes via Amazon, which might be able to track down retailers closer to you. I will say that because the front laces of these boots and the side straps are adjustable, they just might work for you.

    Also, see today’s post for why I do not do LG-esque drawings with any regularity. She’s much better at them!


Leave a Reply

