August 5, 2010

Mascara

Posted in *cringe*, Nerdiness, The OCD, The Small and Petty, The WTF at 8:41 am by Dagny Taggart

My workday beauty regimen is pretty basic – undereye concealer (thanks, DC-area-allergy embiggened dark circles!), the lightest dusting of blush, some powder (to soak up all that lovely humidity!) and mascara.  Following the mascara, I wipe the edge of my upper eyelid with a Q-tip, as I’ve invariably managed to get mascara on it as well as my lashes.

This morning, on the metro, it was standing room only (as it has been for much of the summer, because they are running fewer trains on the Orange Line and we are thus packed like sardines in insufficiently air-conditioned cars).  A petite girl stood next to me, clearly in the part of the car where petite persons should not stand*, as there was nothing for her to grab onto when the train lurched or shuddered.

And then she put on her mascara, as the train lurched and shuddered merrily along.

I couldn’t decide if I was more concerned, disgusted, offended, or impressed.  And I seriously considered saying something, because putting makeup on, on the metro, is inappropriate to the point of being rude, in my opinion.  Not to mention, it would have been totally gross if she’d poked herself in the  eye with the mascara wand.

Am I alone in this?

*I would just like to point out that this part of the train isn’t exactly comfortable for taller people either, as our arms are above our heads for the entire trip.  More poles, please!

3 Comments »

  1. I don’t get the putting makeup on in public either…

  2. Lemon Gloria said,

    I think I’m ok with people applying makeup in public, even though I think it’s odd. The worst thing I’ve ever seen on the metro was a guy cutting his fingernails. Ick ick ick.

  3. Go Betty said,

    Eewww cutting fingernails on the train thats just gross. I have been known to put my mascara and lippy on while sitting in my car at the traffic lights and have even seen some guys with their electric razors shaving in their cars on the way to work. Do they end up with whiskers on their shirt fronts I wonder?
    Sounds like she was lucky not to poke an eyeball out and if she was so short she probably stands there nose to armpit with everyone else on the metro hanging onto poles and straps or whatever. I hope thay all were a good deo :-S


Leave a Reply

