May 23, 2007

Conversation, Part II

Posted in nutella, Present, The Why, The WTF at 8:39 am by Dagny Taggart

DT:  All right.  Where are you?  Come out, show yourself.

K:  Right here, as usual.  Looking over your shoulder.

DT:  Karma, I know you’re some sort of divine force, but must you look so smug all the time?  It’s really annoying.

K:  I’m quite sure I don’t know what you mean.

DT:  Riiight.  So anyway, about this situation I’ve got going on…

K:  Something… vexes thee? 

DT:  Okay.  First of all, the movie quotes are my thing, and it’s not nearly as cute when you do it.  Second, I just don’t get it.  What are you trying to tell me here?

K:  Maybe this is what happens when you don’t stand up for yourself enough?  Maybe, just maybe, when you let people get away with too much for too long, you forget how to insist on what’s important to you.  And then, because you didn’t insist, you have no one but yourself to blame when it doesn’t happen.  Remember that smart friend of yours?  She’s the one who pointed out that you never get more than you ask for in a negotiation.

DT:  Gotcha.  So… maybe I should try on that fabulous, confident, doesn’t-take-crap thing for a while, and see how that works?

K:  (dryly) It’s an idea.

DT:  As annoying as you are when you’re right (and smug!), I *might* owe you a thank you for this one.  Will a very recently opened jar of Nutella work?

K:  Hand it over.  I’ll be back, you know.

DT:  You know?  I wouldn’t have it any other way.

10 Comments »

  1. Jo said,

    My boy tells me to stop letting people (especially at work) walk all over me every time I mention an “incident”. Hindsight is always 20/20 and I can never come up with a reply at the right time. It’s not the will, it’s figuring out what is the right thing to say.

  2. I-66 said,

    Your Karma reminds me of the Metatron from Dogma.

  3. You never get more than you ask for in a negotiation is a quote to live by…I tell people that all the time.

    And, not for nothin’, but you’ve got a lot of bargaining power on your side of the negotiation table. You want something? Go get it. You’ve got the firepower to demand it. And if you DON’T get?

    Take your Nutella and walk.

  4. Jo: I’m still laughing at that site. Clearly, if I do say something, I should avoid passive-aggressive phrases and tone! 😀

    I-66: You know, I think she’s his female twin. I do have a brain-crush on Alan Rickman – who, oddly enough, also played the person to whom the above quote was said.

    INPY: I like the way you think. And you have a really good point – firepower AND functional legs. Thanks! 😀

  5. Lisa said,

    I agree with INPY entirely. You rock! And if someone isn’t treating you the way you deserve, you should definitely walk. Head held high, Nutella in one hand, spoon in the other.

  6. Lisa: You know, it’s not that anyone is treating me badly, just that something’s not sitting right. Knowing when to speak up (with friends, co-workers, etc.) is just hard sometimes. Thank you for the kind words! 😀

  7. carrie m said,

    I wish my karma would take the shape of the metatron.

    DT! I saw a commercial for NUTELLA last night up here in the Great White North. They were saying how healthy it was and a teacher was boasting that she sees the results of a good breakfast. I immediately thought of our conversation.

    Wonder if we could do a commercial like that for a nutella martini…

  8. gn said,

    Haha. I love this post. I have trouble asserting myself because I never want to step on anyone’s toes, but then mine get stepped on and I complain about it. Waah. Good luck! 🙂

  9. cheerfulcynic said,

    That was your advice to me, Dummy. Don’t you listen to anything you say?

    Nutella is the most foul spread-like substance ever invented.

  10. joebec said,

    cute! and i learned what nutella is. YUMMY!


Leave a comment