August 9, 2010

Nerditude

Posted in *cringe*, But I am... le tired, Nerdiness, The OCD, The Small and Petty at 10:50 am by Dagny Taggart

Yes, I am evil, and a total judgmental bitch.

But if you use the word “loose” where “lose” would be more appropriate, or if you claim to “pour” over a book, I will judge you and think less of you.  Unless you’re actually causing liquid to leave a vessel at a greater elevation than the tome in question, in which case I apologize.

Also, my power came back on, Saturday morning.  They *finally* disconnected the supermarket’s generator late last night, so I’ve gotten almost no sleep, and am therefore being even more harsh about this than I would normally.

But it’s kind of true.

8 Comments »

  1. Alias Faux said,

    You minus well give up on getting worked up about such a thing. It’s the dominate way of saying things and, frankly, I could care less.

  2. Alias Faux: I cannot upload pics into a comment. Rest insured, my head asplode. 😉

  3. freckledk said,

    Irregardless, I still like you. We have such a good repoire.

  4. freckledk: My now-headless body is curled up in the fetal position, rocking back and forth. I’d be muttering if my head (and its mouth) were still attached.

  5. Alias Faux said,

    Side note: pet peeve. Why does the apostrophe imply possession everywhere except for “its” ?

    I cannot fathom how “it’s” isn’t the correct usage there.

    Further pet peeve, it makes 10000% more sense for the punctuation mark to be the last part of a sentance containing a quotation. If a sentance is ended inside of a quotation that ends the referring sentance, it should appear

    “.”

    Just IMHO.

  6. Alias Faux: The apostrophe is also used in place of various letters in contractions, which is why “it is” gets shortened to “it’s”. If both the contraction and the possessive form employed the apostrophe, it would be confusing.

    There are two schools of thought about where punctuation goes at the end of a sentence with a quotation. I think, depending on which style manual a person uses, your method may be correct.

  7. Lemon Gloria said,

    You know what gives me a terrible amount of trouble? Who’s and whose. They always give me paws.

  8. Alias Faux said,

    Also, I do not know how to spell the word sentence.


Leave a comment